The last few weeks of pregnancy

My due date is creeping up very quickly and labour could start any day now.

I have been practising hypnobirthing with a wonderful teacher called Jane from  Wise Hippo Hypnobirthing We have met with her on a 1:1 basis in our home to learn how to be as relaxed as possible for the birth of our child.

I would fully recommend this technique, as it truly offers a life skill. We have had a few non-pregnancy related stresses along the way during the past 9 months and my hypnobirthing practise has been wonderful way of releasing those stresses, breathing more deeply and finding tools to relax. The other thing is has done which I hadn’t expected is open up conversation about every aspect of birth and parenthood that we are worried about, and finding ways to deal with these together or normalise those worries, as well as offer us brilliant antenatal information.

My wish for our birth is that we have it at home, in water. We have the birth pool ready to go, and are very lucky as where we live in the UK there is a dedicated home-birth midwifery team, so one of five midwives will deliver baby Ace (we named the bump!) when the time comes. We will hopefully then be able to have a baby moon period after birth to adjust to our new lives and slowly learn the ropes.

I have enjoyed the preparation and organisation of the birth, I just really hope I can have it as I have visualised- in a relaxing place at home with everything I need around me, feeling safe.

We have chosen not to find out the sex of the baby so that is something that we are both excited about. I think its a boy and my boyfriend thinks its a girl. Not long til we find out..!

So, last week of pregnancy tips-

  • Eat dates and almonds every day
  • Drink raspberry leaf tea daily (i mix it with berry tea to make it taste nicer!)
  • Do some gentle exercise daily (my hips and legs have been painful in last few months so I cant walk too far but swimming feels wonderful, as does some gentle yoga)
  • Spend some time every day on the birthing ball
  • Pelvic exercises three times a day (or whenever i remember!)
  • Eat little and often
  • Drink at least 6 pints of water
  • Rest as much as possible, or at least do something that you find relaxing
  • I have found i am trying to fit in some things I don’t think I will be able to do as much when baby is here e.g baking, sewing, meals out with boyfriend, cinema trips and talking to friends without interruption!
  • Increase protein intake ( I am putting protein powder in smoothies)
  • Practise hypnobirthing at least twice a day
  • Make board of mantras and inspirational photos for birth
Leave a Reply

